Our Learning


The EYFS curriculum (Early Years Foundation Stage) covers the development of children from birth to five years and is made up of six key areas, which are grouped into ‘specific’ and ‘prime’ areas:


Specific areas


  • Communication and language
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development


Prime areas


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


The purpose of the EYFS is to give every child the best possible start in life, as early experiences play a huge part in children’s future chances. The curriculum emphasises that children should be given opportunities to learn actively, through their play, both inside and outside.

Here at Rush Common School, we firmly believe that for children to learn they need to feel happy and safe. Building positive relationships with the children is paramount and enables us to provide teaching and learning opportunities that reflect individual interests and needs. This allows each and every child to reach their full potential and leave Reception with a thirst for knowledge and ready for the next stage in their learning journey.


Useful Guidance – EYFS

The documents below provide useful information for parents with children starting in the EYFS. Links to presentations given by Rush Common School with further information are also available on our website.


Early Years Development Matters

EYFS Framework

Learning to read in the EYFS Guide